Image

Pitch and Catch

Pitch and Catch

Here’s an example of journalistic failure. I set foot in the market with a clear image of exactly what I wanted to capture. My vision was to get side by side with the front man at Pike Place Fish Co. This is the fish stand at the south end of the market (by the pig) that’s famous for throwing fish. So, the vision was clear, I walked in with my 50mm, chatted with the guy at the front, who’s name I didn’t catch (that’s failure #1). Instead of putting my cam on shutter-prio, I decided to up the ISO until some sample exposures were making 1/500 – 1/1000 times. This worked well and allowed me to control my DOF. I wanted foreground blur, and to catch the faces and expressions of the guys behind the counter, the ones throwing the fish.

So, that handsome fish monger I chatted with (originally from SoCal-I remember as much) wearing that beautiful Seahawks beanie (Go Hawks!), asked me, “You ready?” I was, so I positioned myself right next to him. AF-C, 3D mode… thought I was ready, but didn’t get my focus point started on the target and the first three shots I took were all bokeh (failure #2). Finally got my focus point as they caught the fish behind the counter (link to more photos below). Then they threw it back.

Somehow, during this first set, my instinct had me tapping the shutter. I didn’t hear it cycling, so I guess I just pressed it. It could have been that it wasn’t focusing quickly enough so I thought I could refocus with another tap… But here comes the shot I wanted all along, had planned out from the get-go. And, unbeknownst to me, my release mode was set the single frame! This was my major failure. So, I clicked and held and heard: Thwap……………………………………………………………………..
and I thought, CRAP!!! and instinctively started tapping again.

So, I didn’t get the shot I wanted… but I still came out with some good stuff. I’ll head back sometime with a 24 instead of a 50 so I can get a little more of the excitement and depth. For now, I’m thankful to that gentleman of a fishmonger who hooked me and the public up with some classic entertainment. Thanks Pike Place Fish Co.!

Nikon D800, AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G @ f/2, 1/500s, ISO 800

Link to Pike Place Fish Co. Gallery

3 thoughts on “Pitch and Catch

  1. Pingback: Photos: Pike Place Fish Co. | Alex Krengel

    • Thanks Bill, certainly didn’t mean to come off negative. It was another great experience down at the market and these guys seem to be having a great time. I’m still happy with what I came away with.

Leave a Reply

